2019 current board members


Ms Virginia Rogers
Mr Greg Miller
Adj Assoc Prof Naomi Dobroff
Ms Paula Stephenson
Ms Amanda Singleton

Mr Ken Latchford

Ms Maureen Capp 


Ms Brenda Waites

Ms Jo Mapes

Mr Matthew Grace



 Ms Virginia Rogers 


A lawyer with broad experience in private practice and with major corporations and extensive experience within the local government and not for profit sectors. A former Chairperson of the Equal Opportunity Commission of Victoria and of Save the Children Australia, Ms. Rogers is the former Director of Victorian Legal Aid, Chairman of Marriott Support Services and a trustee of the RMIT Foundation


Mr Greg Miller:


Mr Miller is a registered nurse with extensive experience in mental health nursing across both the academic and service sectors. Working in a senior role in education and workforce development for Melbourne Health he has been a member of the Victorian nursing and midwifery regulatory Boards since 2006. Mr Miller provides considerable expertise in the field of mental health nursing leadership, clinical standards, education and practice development.


Adj Assoc Prof Naomi Dobroff:


Naomi Dobroff is a Registered Nurse and has a Master’s Degree in Public Health. She is the Chief Nursing Information Officer at Monash Health and has held many senior nursing positions within Victoria. Naomi is a Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing and holds an honorary position of Adjunct Associate Professor, School of Nursing and Midwifery at Deakin. Naomi is the Chairperson and Board Member of the Victorian Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (term finishes 30 June 2019)  She was previously a Board Member of the Nurses Board of Victoria. Naomi is very proud of the ongoing ability of the Nurses Board of Victoria Legacy Limited to provide grants to Victorian nurse and midwives.. 


Ms Paula Stephenson:


Ms Stephenson is a registered nurse with a wealth of clinical, education, leadership and management experience in health spanning more than twenty eight years. She has held senior management roles in a number of metropolitan health services, and provided advisory services to government, private and public health organisations across all clinical domains. Ms Stephenson has a Master of Nursing Studies and recognises the importance of being an advocate for advancing the nursing and midwifery professions and understands how critical education and research are to achieving this mission.

Ms Stephenson is currently Executive Director of Clinical Services and Chief Nursing Officer at Epworth Healthcare and a practitioner member of the Victorian Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia


Ms Amanda Singleton:


Ms Amanda Singleton an experienced health practitioner with over 35 years experience in clinical service management,operations and service planning. Amanda has worked in rural and metropolitan health, across private and public settings. She has worked in private midwifery practice in collaboration with two obstetricians and another midwife, believing that women should have choices in childbirth. Amanda  continues to consult in healthcare throughout Victoria and has worked fro health services,councils, the Department of Health and Human Services and the Health Services Commissioner.

Amanda has been fortunate enough to have the opportunity to work internationally in areas of  quality and risk including Hong King, Singapore, India,Bahrain, UAE, Oman and Sri Lanka. Of particular interest to her is how risk management will evolve as consumers assume more control and responsibility in the provision of their health care. Amanda is  pleased to be be part of the NBVLL to support the ongoing development of nurses and midwives in Victoria. 



 Mr Ken Latchford:


 Mr Latchford is an experienced finance executive with particular skills in treasury, accounting, risk management, corporate governance and strategy. His industry experience covers retail, wholesale and distribution, rail and logistics, labour services and the not for profit sector. He is currently a director of Harness Racing Victoria and  is a former director of Kids Under Cover. Qualifications  B.Commerce, MBA,FCPA


Ms Maureen Capp OAM:


Maureen Capp, OAM, JP, B Bus, MBA (Melb), CPA spent many years in the accountancy sector in private practices.  After graduation, she lectured in Accounting for 4 years, then for around 15 years held senior management roles with Victorian Statutory Authorities.  Ms Capp has received an Order of Australia Medal for services to the community of Melbourne.


 Ms Brenda Waites:


Ms. Brenda Waites is a newly appointed practitioner member to the Victorian Board of Nurses Midwifery Board of Australia. Ms. Waites is an Enrolled Nurse with a Diploma in Paramedical Science. Currently working in a per- operative environment in Anaesthetics and Obstetrics, Ms Waites is maintains her advocacy for Enrolled Nurse's ongoing education and emerging opportunities. Ms Waites has an keen interest in Infection Control, Hand Hygiene and Aged Care and is delighted to be part of the NBVLL.




Ms Jo Mapes:


Ms. Jo Mapes is a Director for Nursing and Midwifery and holds the portfolio for Professional Practice at Eastern Health. This is a significant leadership role overseeing the practice and development of over 4000 nurses and midwives, and management of several workforce and improvement initiatives. Prior to migrating to Australia in 2007, Jo worked as a Community Nurse Practitioner in the NHS, following several varied roles in acute nursing, and management. In Australia Jo has worked in education and operations management roles, and spent two years as a Senior Program Advisor with the Department of Health.  Jo holds a Masters of Nursing, majoring in Health Service improvement and Human Resources management, and is a member of the Nursing Midwifery Board Australia – Victoria Board. Jo is excited to participate in the activities of NBVLL in supporting nurses and midwives to develop themselves and contribute to the broader profession through education and research



Mr Matthew Grace


Mr. Matthew Grace is a registered nurse and holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Mental Health Nursing. He has vast experience within the public mental health system in both inpatient and community settings as well as the military sector. Matthew currently works for the Department of Defence in a direct clinical role along with process development and improvement within the mental health and wider Defence health area. He is a current practitioner member of the Victorian Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia.  He has a particular interest in mental health, nursing ethics, patient advocacy and process improvement through the use of technology.